My Preciousss

trouserbuttonhole

Here is the sewing tool I treasure most: my thimble ring.  Without it I don’t know how I could have done these buttonholes.  I was out of black buttonhole silk so I tried using poly “button thread,” and pushing a needle loaded with that, through the layers of wool and buckram interfacing, was a real bear.  After the first two buttonholes shown above, I headed for my stash of crochet thread and did the rest in #10 pearl cotton.

fall front trousers

Here is the finished project: a pair of fall front trousers, straight leg, circa 1840s.

Leave a Reply

